Skip to main content

The Director General, Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), Mallam Farouk Salim,

led a delegation of SON Officials to represent the Federal Republic of Nigeria at the 3rd ARSO Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRAs) Working Group Meeting in Kigali, Rwanda.

(L – R): Prof. Olobayo Kunle (Chief of Staff – DG); Engr. Timothy Abner (Director, Training Services); Mrs. Amina Haliru (Head, Halal Desk); Mallam Farouk Salim (Director General/ Chief Executive, SON); Engr.Felix Nyado (Director, Management Systems Certification) and Engr. Nwaoma Olujie (Deputy Director, Management Systems Certification)

Nigeria is one of the six (6) African Countries nominated by the African Organisation for Standardization (ARSO) to champion the Mutual Recognition Agreement at the Regional Economic Communities (RECs) levels to facilitate the adoption of Standards to promote the implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) agreement, especially with regards to Technical Barriers to Trade and Conformity Assessment.

The ARSO MRA Working Group consists of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of Zimbabwe, the Republic of South Africa, the Republic of Kenya, and the Republic of Ghana.

The Rwanda Standards Board (RSB) hosted the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu